• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • razorgrill
    232 I6
    • Jan 03, 2010

AMC 360 - MC 2100 - CHOKE

So apparently, in my newbie carb rebuild, I screwed up the choke. Electric or vacuum? More to come on that one. I have it running half decent for a change.

Issue was, that Jeep just would NOT start when it was cold. It would take starter fluid to start, ran decent, but not like a "new" truck.

Reading up on why my dang Jeep ran like garBOJ, I discovered this magical thing called choke. Make your jokes gentlemen...

Still has a hesitation, NOW it smells too rich after winding the coil, ran in the air/fuel screws, curbed the idle... its running decent again, but not "new."

Ill post if she starts up tmrw without starter fluid.

Again... make your jokes. I am a newbie at the carburetor thing. Learning as I go. If you have ANY inputs, fire away! I am one of those military guys that grew up in constructive criticism.

On the other hand, training exercise with Tucson SWAT today was pretty fun!!
    Matt N.
    Tucson, AZ

1978 Jeep Cherokee S (Fully Documented)

2009 Suzuki Hayabusa (Sold) (Lowered 3" R 2" F, K&N Intake, Header Back Alien Head II Exhaust, TRE Mod, Power Commander w/ Race Map, VP Race Fuel)

2013 Nissan Maxima (1 Owner, New Car Smell)
  • razorgrill
    232 I6
    • Jan 03, 2010

Still can't figure out choke.. Butterfly opens up "two hashes" after the last hash on lean. Any ideas?

Figured out why it wouldn't start without carb spray.. Had the spring before diaphragm, on accelerator pump. FML.

Runs 200% better now! Just needs a slight timing adjustment, and very very slight carb adjustment.
    Matt N.
    Tucson, AZ

2009 Suzuki Hayabusa (Sold) (Lowered 3" R 2" F, K&N Intake, Header Back Alien Head II Exhaust, TRE Mod, Power Commander w/ Race Map, VP Race Fuel)

Comment

• lycanthrope
      258 I6
      • Mar 26, 2007